Computational Tradition, “Hello world!”

This is a blog, but I’ve never blogged before nor have I read any blogs. So, as ole’ Bill might say, “Fuck it, we’re doing it live.” I don’t know much about him, but I don’t like him. Or rather, I don’t much like his reputation. I suppose, if I did, I would have poor taste. That’s a value-judgment, though, and a rather personalized one at that. So, that’s your first piece of information about me: I sometimes draw conclusions based on very little information. We all do, but I know it and I like to think that puts me one step ahead of where I would be. Although, honestly, I would think that, wouldn’t I? And, that’s what this blog is about: my thoughts, my life and the things I love (or hate, as the case may be). I’ll try not to complain too much because, really, it’s my life; there are no refunds on this shit.

I should warn you, I do swear. I think it adds emphasis where a string of capital letters would seem incoherent and shock value where rooty-mctooty just won’t do. Why should you read about me and my sometimes-boring life?  I make mistakes, I learn things and I think ahead just like everyone else. I work at a club, I go to school, I look for love, I try new things and I re-discover old ones. It’s about me, but it’s really about how you relate to me. Maybe you can avoid some of the mistakes I’ve made or, maybe, they’ll help you figure out which ones you’d like to make. Sometimes I like to say I’m interesting because I’m typical, but, for you, I think I’ll go with, “I’m typical because I’m interesting.”

How am I going to lure you in? I’m not. I’m going to let you make the decision to read this or not. If I go off on the odd rant (and I will), then you’ll probably hear my opinions on determinism and self-regulation. I will never tell you how to live your life, but I will tell you to tell you how to. Tell-ception. Good luck out there. It’s a rough haul and we’ve all got to get where we’re going.

Leave a Reply

