Twitter

Hey, so we’re starting that shorter-posts more often thing today. It’s a bit early, but why not take advantage of a good thing? (Speaking of good things —> Stealth Bastard – Part 8) I’ll try not to be too insipid.

So, today, I got up and Tweeted something, showered and woke up. I didn’t think too much about it, because it was what I was thinking at the time. Later, I came back, and my Followers had fluctuated negatively! I panicked! What had I said?! I clicked to my retooled, totally-not-Facebook homepage and read the most recent ones. There was a joke about Grecian myths (My theory is, if I keep making them, they’ll become relevant somehow). A reflection on how much time I’ve actually spent in the wilds of the internet lately. Two political soap-boxy posts. And that was it for the day. Nothing too terrible. But, in that time-span, I realized a lot of things. Which I’ll tell you about now.

First, I had to mentally slap myself a few times. “This. Isn’t. A. Popularity. Contest.” I looked startled, to say the least. Because, I know there’s a part of me that finds validation in watching that number go up and despairs when it ticks down. But, that’s really just my own insecurity. Those numbers change for all sorts of different reasons. Sometimes an account will be deactivated for a time. Sometimes people unfollow you for a bit. Sometimes a bot stops existing. Sometimes an ad-spammer just stops following you (big loss). Sometimes someone finds your page, follows, finds out it’s not for them, and leaves. It’s that last one that I’m concerned with here.

After all, Trivial Punk is a public persona that I created to represent a set of values and a mind-set. So, my Tweets should exemplify those principles. It’s about having fun, so I should Tweet about the fun things I’m doing. It’s about games, so I should share news and political opinions related to games. Politics are an inflammatory area, though. They can win or lose a person’s heart before you’ve had the chance to make your case. So, I should avoid them. Right? Except, personal politics are a pretty big deal. They kind of suffuse everything I do, especially when I am my own public representative. So, how do I deal with talking about them on Twitter?

It’s strange, because I’m never quite sure what not to Tweet about. I know Twitter’s a useful tool for sharing information, but, for my personal purposes, how much is too much? What do I leave out?

I came to a personal conclusion; I’m not sure how you guys deal with it. I decided that I’m not going to shy away from my personal politics, but I’m not going to use Trivial Punk as an outlet to soapbox about them. If there’s an issue going on that’s relevant to gaming or writing, then I’ll bring it up and talk about it. But, if the same issue came up and it wasn’t related, I don’t think I should preach about it; I’ll just bump it along the share-vine. Because, it’s not what you’re HERE to see. There are plenty of other places and people who do that far more currently and competently than I  have the time to allot to without totally changing what Trivial Punk is about.

That’s the point, and I think that’s the positive side of branding. The viewing numbers on my pages don’t need to affect my personal opinions, and they certainly shouldn’t affect how I behave in my mind or in real life. However, they do tell me if I’m giving you what you thought I was offering. This site, my Tweets and videos are the invisible face of TP. They sort of let you know what you should expect from me, here. The way Cracked represents levity and for the same reason you wouldn’t expect The Escapist to run a piece detailing the conflict in Ukraine.

So, I’ll keep pure soap-boxing out of the equation, but I can’t keep it out of my work. And that’s what I’ve settled on. My opinions and view-points are already embedded in the stuff I create. Why do I need to preach? You can ask me any time, and we’ll have some interesting conversation about something. And, keep in mind that there’s some new stuff coming. But, for my purposes here, I think this is the right choice.

Leave a Reply

